Dryden’s Zubick named SIJHL’s top goaltender for 2016-17



Release Date: Wednesday, March 22, 2017

Photo credit: Gary Moskalyk

Dryden’s Zubick named SIJHL’s top goaltender for 2016-17

THUNDER BAY, Ont. – The Superior International Junior Hockey League announced Wednesday that Patrick Zubick of the Dryden GM Ice Dogs has been named the SIJHL’s top goaltender for the 2016-17 season.

Zubick garnered the laurels over fellow top goaltender award finalists Michael Lenko of the English River Miners and Ryan Buttazzoni of the Thief River Falls Norskies in balloting conducted by each of the SIJHL’s member clubs.

In 29 appearances during the campaign, the 20-year-old Castlegar, B.C., product posted a solid 21-4-3-0 record and led all SIJHL netminders in both goals-against average and save percentage at 2.30 and .931 respectively. He also registered one shutout.

His 21 victories was just one off the league lead and he went 11-2-1-0 since January 1, including winning his last six starts.

Zubick becomes the first netminder in Dryden team history to win this award and joins the likes of current St. Louis Blues NHL goalkeeper Carter Hutton as a winner of this honour.

The following is the list of the SIJHL’s all-time top goaltender award recipients:

2016-17: Patrick Zubick, Dryden GM Ice Dogs
2015-16: Riley Corbin, Thunder Bay North Stars
2014-15: Nathan Park, Fort Frances Lakers
2013-14: Eric Mann, Thunder Bay North Stars
2012-13: Gordy Defiel, Minnesota Wilderness
2011-12: Tanner Milliron, Wisconsin Wilderness
2010-11: John McLean, Wisconsin Wilderness
2009-10: Jameson Shortreed, Fort Frances Lakers
2008-09: Ryan Faragher, Fort Frances Jr. Sabres
2007-08: Drew Strandberg, Thunder Bay Bulldogs
2006-07: Kyle Cantlon, Marathon Renegades
2005-06: Carter Hutton, Fort William North Stars
2004-05: Viktor Saari, Fort William North Stars
2003-04: Daniel Beardy, Fort William North Stars
2002-03: Dan Hoehne, Borderland Thunder
2001-02: Rob Hrabec, Borderland Thunder