GM Ice Dogs’ Stout named SIJHL’s CCM Hockey rookie of the year



Release Date: Friday, March 17, 2016

Photo credit: Michael Christianson, Dryden Observer

GM Ice Dogs’ Stout named SIJHL’s CCM Hockey rookie of the year

THUNDER BAY, Ont. – The Superior International Junior Hockey League announced Friday that Dryden GM Ice Dogs forward Eric Stout has been named its CCM Hockey rookie of the year for the 2016-17 season.

Stout topped fellow CCM Hockey rookie of the year finalists Connor Smith of the Thief River Falls Norskies and Michael Di Lullo of the English River Miners for the honour, in balloting completed by each of the SIJHL’s member clubs.

The Brainerd, Minn., product currently leads all SIJHL rookies in offensive production with 54 points in 41 games played on 29 tallies and 25 assists. He’s also shares 12th overall in scoring among all skaters.

Among his other on-ice accomplishments this season was a 10-game point streak to start the year, which also featured markers in nine straight.

He’s also supplied 17 multi-point contests and is presently tied for fifth in the league in goals with his 29.

Stout becomes just the second player in Dryden team history to capture the award matching the feat accomplished by Cody Mosbeck for his efforts during the 2003-04 campaign.

The following is the list of the SIJHL’s all-time CCM Hockey rookie of the year award recipients:

2016-17: Eric Stout, Dryden GM Ice Dogs
2015-16: Cole Tymkin, Fort Frances Lakers
2014-15: Bradley Belisle, Thunder Bay North Stars
2013-14: Lucas DeBenedet, Fort Frances Lakers
2012-13: Jake Larson, Minnesota Wilderness
2011-12: Jordan Larson, Fort Frances Lakers
2010-11: Austin Adduono, Wisconsin Wilderness
2009-10: Jameson Shortreed, Fort Frances Lakers
2008-09: Jay Pelletier, Fort William North Stars
2007-08: Mitch Cain, Fort Frances Jr. Sabres
2006-07: Kale Kerbashian, Fort William North Stars
2005-06: Dustin Fummerton, Fort William North Stars
2004-05: Andrew Fernandez, Fort William North Stars
2003-04: Cody Mosbeck, Dryden Ice Dogs
2002-03: Jamie Silverson, Thunder Bay Bulldogs
2001-02: Kevin Webb, Borderland Thunder

ABOUT CCM HOCKEY: CCM is the legendary hockey brand that has been rooted in performance for over a century. CCM Hockey offers the innovation and performance that will help write the next chapter in the history of the game. Your legend starts here. For more information on CCM Hockey, visit their website at or on social media at or