Iron Rangers’ Mark Sanchez named SIJHL’s Most Improved Player

THUNDER BAY, Ont. – The Superior International Junior Hockey League announced Wednesday that Minnesota Iron Rangers forward Mark Sanchez has been named its Most Improved Player award honouree for the 2017-18 season.

Sanchez earned the accolades over fellow finalists Julian Uhryniuk of the Fort Frances Lakers and Cody Aarvig of the Thief River Falls Norskies, in balloting completed by each of the league’s member clubs.

The veteran forward, who is in his final year of Jr. A hockey, boasted a 26-point improvement in the SIJHL over his 2016-17 campaign by scoring 19 times and adding 24 assists for Minnesota this season.

The Dallas, Texas product’s tally total led the Iron Rangers as he tied for 14th overall in the league in that department while his seven power play markers put him in the Top 10 in the SIJHL.

The following is the list of the SIJHL’s all-time most improved player award recipients:

2017-18: Mark Sanchez, Minnesota Iron Rangers
2016-17: Braedyn Aubin, Dryden GM Ice Dogs
2015-16: Kenny Turner, Thunder Bay North Stars
2014-15: Miles Nolan, Fort Frances Lakers
2013-14: Mason Meyer, Fort Frances Lakers
2012-13: Colton Spicer, Fort Frances Lakers
2011-12: Matt Morsette, Duluth Clydesdales
2010-11: Sam Dubinsky, Thunder Bay North Stars
2009-10: Matt Hunter, K&A Wolverines
2008-09: Kevin Burton, Dryden Ice Dogs
2007-08: Jared Saunders, Schreiber Diesels
2006-07: Dominic Jean, Schreiber Diesels
2005-06: Jordan Chong, Dryden Ice Dogs
2004-05: J.J. Francis, K&A Golden Hawks
2003-04: Brent Irwin, K&A Golden Hawks
2002-03: Mike MacIntyre, Dryden Ice Dogs
2001-02: Steve Atkins, Feathermen Hawks